Wiki Project-Week One Review.

Below is the link to my wiki project

thismattiswikkiing.pbworks.com

I initially considered using the wiki as a tool to be used during the writing process. I have no clue what corner of my brain that idea snuck out of, but I wish it hadn’t. Between mixed activities of revising, contemplating, and returning to sources, I found that attempting to add in an additional process not directly linked to the paper itself to completely derail the writing process.

Instead, I posted the most pertinent notes gleaned from two sources reviewed during the week’s writing. The pages Correspondence, Civil Disobedience, and the Role of Society and Civilization were created in response to concepts discussed within reviewed sources. I am expecting this approach to creating pages will provide a natural growth to the project, rather than attempting to fit thought into prescribed page headings. The wikki’s main pages use document mode; I think thread mode would be a bit lonely on this project. I have decided to use the double line though to indicate those parts which are simply notes and ideas before being bumped above the dotted line; a move that will indicate information of semi-permanence and acceptance by myself.

I borrowed some wiki organization from Dr. Morgan’s course wikis by adding an On Deck portion to the bottom of the main wiki page. I am not decided on its location as of yet. It doesn’t appear to have enough info to warrant its own page, yet its placement at the bottom of the front page will overly seclude it as information is added.

After posting on the main page, I have shifted information to corresponding pages. My issue is how long I will keep information on the main page after it has been moved. Additionally, my first use of this main page has been as a loading dock for incoming notes. I am not sure how much I really need to double line on this page. What I initially wanted it for was as a means of documenting the aggregate of information that has been brought into the wiki. As a form of documentation.

Last thought. I really need to start working information up into the finished document mode and focus on linking between the pages. This will be the goal for next weeks inputs.

This entry was posted in WeblogsandWikis Gold, Weekly Review. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wiki Project-Week One Review.

  1. mcmorgan says:

    Matt – Looks like a solid start. Part of getting moving is setting out the strategy for yourself, as here – “I am expecting this approach to creating pages will provide a natural growth to the project, rather than attempting to fit thought into prescribed page headings. The wikki’s main pages use document mode; I think thread mode would be a bit lonely on this project. I have decided to use the double line though to indicate those parts which are simply notes and ideas before being bumped above the dotted line; a move that will indicate information of semi-permanence and acceptance by myself.”

    I’ve always fiddled with the organization when I set up or reworked a wiki too much. It can be best to set out the categories or areas you’re pretty sure about, then let the addition of content and the developing purposes drive the organization.

Leave a Reply

