Chapter Twelve Notes: Jill Walker

First and foremost, her tone bespeaks of what I would expect an academic blog post to read like. Being that I have not had a ton of experience delving into academic blogs, it is hard to say, but what I get here is a personal tone, set to well argued and documented conclusions.

Walker’s note that her attitude toward blogging changed due to her placement within the ivory tower was very interesting to me. This once again shows the power of audience. This seems to be especially true within the realm of academic discourse, as Walker fears the need to possibly defend her opinion to those whose respect could potentially affect her career or academic standing (127-128).

I found the connections between the lecture and the blog to be very strong. She makes a good point that both require the listener/reader to allow the publisher to take center stage for the duration of their presentation; the expectation being that the entire blog post will be read in one sitting, and the draw of links be put off until the reading is finished. The importance here is that a conversation can be created after the presentation of content.

Pages 130-133 reminded me that I am in the process of writing my masters thesis, and have daily been bouncing ideas back and forth, making notations on my paper, and have on more than one occasion thought that I should start jotting down how many times and in what manners my mind and paper content has drifted. In a sense, as a blog project, would this immortalize the paper more so than the sad truth she brings up about many student papers/projects in which “…people will read a paper, grade it, and then put it away forever,” 132)?

Final note, on her final pages of this essay (136-137)-can the weblog ever replace the journal, or the project, or even the essay? And can the blog post, or other emerging genres of knowledge production, every be taken seriously enough to say warrant achievement of degrees outside of this study? I go back and forth on this note, mostly because I like the essay/thesis/dissertation- I am by no means a master of writing them-but I find them comfortable, and when done properly, highly readable. Yet, reality cannot be avoided by sticking my head in the sand.

She also noted that Kairos is in the process of utilizing the aggregating and linking abilities which blog posts utilize so well. Would this lead to a reworking of the rules of what is an acceptable citation, or what can be considered as an acceptable source? Would readability be enhanced, or would I skip over blue links much the same as I skim over lengthy quotations? The major question which I consider with this post is: if the ivory tower is bypassed with the consent of those within it, what are the ramifications?

Ok. I am going to come back and proof read this later when my eyes aren’t so tired. Got to love the power to revise published works, and the acceptance of the community to do so.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chapter Twelve Notes: Jill Walker

  1. I liked your comments in response to her ideas of weblogs replacing the traditional forms, ones I am also comfortable with. It reminds me of when we were talking about blogs being kept through a college career and whether the writer of the blog would actually want to be presented as the content of the blog. I’m still struggling with the idea of blogs being taken that seriously.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Review | thismattisblogging

Leave a Reply

