Week Two Review

Looking over the week’s assignments, constructive (blog formatting) and intellectually generative, I did notice that my approach differed from the usual. My time in academia has for the most part been extremely comfortable. Not easy, but not surprising either. I never knew precisely what was going to be expected of me in terms of project/paper assignment, but the generic format of the written word was something which I could more or less count on, and the generic level of academic expertise was something which rarely shifted. In fact a quick look at example rubrics at the Carnegie Mellon University offers some perfect examples of the format and audience I have generally written for at BSU. I find that working on a blog changes my approach, a change which I feel is due to my ownership of a final product which is meant to be social and change constantly. I of course could consider the majority of my paper-esque college projects to be my own, but they were single entries working toward a similar one time grade-book entry.

I do not own the apparatus which creates my blog, but its appearance and shifting content is my own choice. There is no final product with a blog. I get to constantly choose what is the final presentation of my thought, right? Though a post is just that, a final published thought, so there is not clear line for me here. Beyond that, the audience is much wider, varied, and yet for the duration of this course I am being graded and I am aware of that. I also know that I am being pushed to create. Random attempts, thoughts, and potential failures are pushed for in this course structure, that is the key difference between my usual university approach and the rigor of my course driven blogging. I find myself much more willing to be generally reflective on what I feel I know rather than academically as sure as I can be with respected sources. For instance, my post on IP, CC, and copyright law was based on wide net of Google searches, educated guesses as to respectable sources (the Creative Commons website was a no brainer), and a post which utilized my “sources” and dredged up my understanding of copyright law. That is not my normal approach. Usually I would have taken the time to look over my MLA publisher’s guide for any issues with my understanding, yet I didn’t do that here for a piece which has the potential to be seen by a much wider audience than an instructor.

Well before this gets to long, my thoughts on this second week of the course. Agreeable, anxious to see what else we can do and/or create. I enjoy the social implications of the blog and Twitter stream within a course setting, yet I also wonder if I will ever be able to just sit back and blog about something that is not class oriented. It’s just not my style. I try on Twitter every now and then to share something small about my day, but each post-two  of them I believe- has left me feeling egotistical and thinking, “who the hell cares.” Once I get blogging about class though I have noticed that I write a lot more than I would have foreseen. This interests me. Ok, finally, what I want to work on: making my blog a bit more lively. I need to find some videos that are relevant, add some color to the background, import some pictures in my posts. Checking out my peer’s blogs has made this very obvious, good work everyone.

This entry was posted in Weekly Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week Two Review

  1. mcmorgan says:

    Lots to consider in this post for us as instructors. I’m drawn towards your idea of coming at tasks that we typically define as academic from a new angle, which leads towards re-thinking.

    >I find myself much more willing to be generally reflective on what I feel I know rather than academically as sure as I can be with respected sources. For instance, my post on IP, CC, and copyright law was based on wide net of Google searches, educated guesses as to respectable sources (the Creative Commons website was a no brainer), and a post which utilized my “sources” and dredged up my understanding of copyright law. That is not my normal approach.

    I’m finding the same thing. I have to check around to determine the credibility of a source, but even more, I have to adjust my use of the source appropriately. The guidelines are well-defined for scholarly writing, so invoke habit and little reflection. When writing on a weblog or wiki, I’m weighing options, possibilities, alternative positions, registers, users of evidence, topics …

Leave a Reply

