Mr. Cage, or is it Kent, or is the internet ruining my research rigor…

Call me lazy, but after looking over a few of the top Google picks I decided to read and lacklusterly accept Brain Pickings short bio on the creation and dissemination of the list in question. My reason for this being that I could find no solid and believable consensus on the list’s starting off point. To be honest this does not bother me in the slightest, or at least for this web based usage anyway. In some manner working via sage advice on the internet and blog entry lowers my expectations for academic rigor when source clarity is in question. Rather, I find my focus entirely upon the content and what people (me included) can do with it, and my mind is also sidetracked by how many different fonts the list has be written in from website to website. The link given in class, here (super boring font), gives Mr. Cage the credit for the creation of “Some Rules for Students and Teachers,” yet Brain Pickings website gives credit to Sister Corita Kent’s use of the list in a course she taught in the late 60’s. Here is the list as shown on Brain Picking’s Website:

Sweet font right. For this post I initially wanted to pick a few rules to unleash all of my agrees/disagrees/Switzerlands upon, but instead, I find that as I read each rule I have strong initial gut reaction or memory to the sentiment expressed. So here I go.

Rule 1: I used to sit in the upper union on the slider rocking chairs tucked into the brick alcoves. Loved those spots, and they were my trusty areas of solitude tucked into a busy building. Perfect comfort with the chair and great napping with the sun on my face. I was seriously attached to these spots as my own property. Then I noticed a bunch of hair on one of the headrests and some random dry scalp pieces-done with those.

Rule 2: I couldn’t stand it when students would ask questions during the last thirty seconds of a lecture! “Any final questions before we call it a day?” No! Get everything out of your professors during bulk of the class hour, or after class is dismissed. Even though I would be seething on the inside while we all waited, I never had to nerve to leave. I felt it was disrespectful to the prof. and the student, and yet I felt disrespected…hm.

Rule 3: That’s what we make the big bucks for!

Rule 4: But take stuff seriously. And not everything needs to break the mold at all times. Some experiments have been done, paid off, make sense, and are now the norm. I don’t feel like one of the sheep each time I see the merits of consensus. Yet keep your skeptical mind open. There is no clear path on this one is there?

Rule 5: Do the work, do it well. Study what is given and question-see rule 4.

Rule 6: See rule 5 and I agree.

Rule 7: Agree completely for academic work and most of the professional jobs my friends tell me about. Yet I recall when I worked minimum wage jobs as a kid/undergrad, or my buddies who work in 30-40K range for big businesses. Some systems seem to be tailor made for leeches who pray on your hard work. For these instances I say gain your experience and do the best to move on.

Rule 8: Yet I feel my paper writing process is a constant stream of these processes-kinda like a mercury switch.

Rule 9: Beer is good.

Rule 10: Could not agree more. All things change constantly.

Hint: The being around part of this hint is completely true. From what I have seen so far in my o’ so lengthy years, social relationships can open some amazing doors which hard work and/or qualifications may not. As to saving everything. I am betting the person who wrote this owned a house. Saving everything in college has led me to some amazing bonfires; paper is heavy and I don’t own or have access to a free scanner.

 

This entry was posted in WeblogsandWikis Gold and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

